NEW SINGLE: "More To Run" (THE OCEAN PARTY)

July 31, 2017

 

SINGLE: More To Run
ARTIST: The Ocean Party

It's hard in this coastal-centric country of ours not to continually bump into a band waxing lyrical about the surf, sand and other ocean-themed shenanigans - but one band who have steadily set themselves apart from the sea (yes, I went there) of sun-kissed tunes are Melbourne-via-Wagga dynamos The Ocean Party.

 

Put simply, The Ocean Party are one of the steadiest groups in the indie scene right now, already leaving six albums, a bunch of tours and plenty of entertaining videos in their wake. But it's their deceptively effortless charm and pared-back style that has added to their ongoing appeal, and their latest single 'More To Run' off their upcoming seventh album 'Beauty Point' is just another example of a low-key burner that crawls into your ears and transports you to a private sunset chill-fest complete with crisp guitars and delicate riffs.

It comes as little surprise that the band were inspired by varying shifts in locations and life in general, both for this latest track and the album itself - the album was recorded in two parts, from a week of sessions at a house/studio in Stanwell Park (NSW) to some final sessions at the bands inland hometown of Wagga Wagga. The contrast of perspective and belonging between the two locales formed the basis for the album, and 'More To Run' wholeheartedly explores themes of identity, belonging and significance, both lyrically and tonally.

With each listen, The Ocean Party's subtle genius reveals itself like an ebbing and flowing wave on some secluded coastal shore, and 'More To Run' is a beautiful representative of what is sure to be a charming and compelling upcoming album.

'Beauty Point' is due out on the 18th of August, but in the meantime check out the clip for 'More To Run' below:
 

For more info check out: FacebookInstagram: @theoceanparty Soundcloud

 

The boys will also be taking the party on the road with a heap of tour dates kicking off after mid-August:

 

​THE OCEAN PARTY - AUS ALBUM TOUR​

Fri. Aug 18 – Yass, NSW @ Thyme To Taste
Sat. Aug 19 – Sydney, NSW @ Volumes Festival
Sun. Aug 20 – Stanwell Park, NSW @ Lower Coast Road
Mon. Aug 21 – Canberra, ACT @ The Phoenix
Tue. Aug 22 – Wollongong, NSW @ Music Farmers
Wed. Aug 23 – Thirroul, NSW @ Franks Wild Years
Thu. Aug 24 – Bellingen, NSW @ The Federal Hotel
Fri. Aug 25 – Eumundi, NSW @ Humdrum Espresso
Sat. Aug 26 – Brisbane, QLD @Sonic Sherpa Records
Sun. Aug 27 – Brisbane, QLD @ Against The Grain Festival
Thu. Aug 31 – Townsville, QLD @The Rec Room
Fri. Sept 01 – Cairns, QLD @ The Conservatory Bar
Sat. Sept 02 – Mackay, QLD @ Langfords Hotel
Wed. Sept 06 – Alice Springs, NT @ Monte's
Fri. Sept 08 – Adelaide, SA @The Metro
Sat. Sept 09 – Kyneton, VIC @ Major Toms
Sun. Sept 10 – Ballarat, VIC @ TBA
Sat. Nov 04 – Melbourne, VIC @ The Pinnacle
Sun. Nov 05 – Wagga Wagga, VIC @ The Birdhouse

 

 

 

 

 

 BY TIANA SPETER

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload